Build Thread: '66 Convertible Mid Engine S/C 3800 V6 6 Speed

Feel Free To Post Details And / Or Photos On Corvair Conversions Projects That Are Under Way

Build Thread: '66 Convertible Mid Engine S/C 3800 V6 6 Speed

Postby VairKing » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:08 am

Project started in 2011.

I've been dreaming up this project for the last 6 years after the day a club member asked me what I would do different when building a V8 Corvair. I told him I would use a GM supercharged 3800 (L67) instead of that thirsty V8. I spent a good year or so trying to convince him to build such an animal, but then realized I would have to do it myself. So here we are. I've been collecting pieces and parts and its time to do a little more white board planning and get this thing on track!

Car: 1966 Corsa Convertible, I bought this 2 years ago, it was fully restored, partially reassembled. All suspension, 140, etc was brand new. New paint job is about a 6/10, and the reason the seller did not want to finish putting it together. He was flipping the car and another paint job would have killed the deal. Great candidate for a sawzall!

Engine: 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix L67 3800 Supercharged V6, 240 HP from the factory, will be over 300 when installed. Engine was pulled out of a babied car that had 120,000 miles on it. Lots of life left in her!

Transmission: 2006 Pontiac G6 6 speed manual (F40) This transmission is brand new and will bolt up to the L67. The Stage 3 clutch will be custom made by Spec, and a stock 3.8 powered Camaro flywheel will bolt to the engine.

Brakes/suspension: S10 2wd drop spindles and disk brakes up front. For the rear, I am custom building trailing arm with a custom SLA setup. The trailing arms are longer than stock so the locating arms clear the rear of the engine cradle. Coilover shocks and stock Pontiac G6 front disk brakes w/ factory G6 wheel bearings are being used.

Cooling: Front mounted radiator, as small as possible with openings under the bumper like my V8VAIR.